Prickly-Critterz Forum
Prickly-Critterz Forum
Prickly-Critterz Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

The story of the first of my special babies.

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
Nellie
Admin/Owner
Admin/Owner
Nellie

The story of the first of my special babies. Empty
PostSubject: The story of the first of my special babies.   The story of the first of my special babies. Icon_minitimeSat Aug 15, 2015 10:45 am

The story of the first of my special babies. Dscf1817

I have been breeding African Pygmy Hedgehogs for 6+ years now and even though I have had some destroyed litters and two abandoned litters, there are things that can still happen as the story of this little girl and his sister goes to show.

This little girl was born to a first time mum along with her other special sister. From day one, her mum made no attempt to build a nest and from the sounds of the babies squeaking constantly, I think I knew that something wasn't quite right.

It is important to remember that disturbing a mother and her hoglets is never encouraged, but with experience, there comes a point where sometimes you have to bite the bullet and check on what is happening.

This fist little one has had three of her four feet bitten off by mum - now, this could be down to over zealous cleaning on birth, or the fact that the babies were wriggling all over the place and mum was simply grabbing them to pull them back to her - pure guess work as to what happened.

You can see from the first photos that the wounds had scabbed over and that the hoglet appears to be well in every other aspect but at this point I was really in a quandary as to what would be best for her.

My options were:-

1. To take her to my vet for a professional opinion on her chances of a normal life - to do this at such an early stage in a hoglet's life runs the risk that mum could abandon/destroy her if they were parted.